The Weight of Knowing

Mount Rainier is 14, 410 feet tall
and only fifty-four miles away
from Seattle. Rainier is a heavily
glaciated, ‘episodically-active’
volcano. On clear days Rainier
floats above the horizon,
its massive presence and beauty
gifts calling us to pay attention,
to carry the weight of knowing.

Andrew Shattuck McBride

“The Weight of Knowing” is my August 3, 2012 poem for the postcard poetry project. I used a contemporary card of the Seattle, Washington skyline with Mount Rainier in the background. I mailed the card to Catherine in Orlando, Florida.

Blessings to Catherine and all, Andy

About Andrew Shattuck McBride

I am a writer, editor, writing coach, and consultant. I work in a variety of genres, including poetry, short stories, and creative non-fiction. I also have a couple of novels simmering on back burners. THANK YOU to Nan Macy of Village Books for taking this photo (June 2011).
This entry was posted in Andrew Shattuck McBride Writer, Can We Talk?, Postcard poetry August 2012, Samples and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Weight of Knowing

  1. Andy, it certainly is a weighty “knowing” to be aware of what that mountain is capable of! In the meantime, I think it’s magical that you get something as “massive” as Mt. Rainier to “float.”

Leave a comment