Friendship

There is no house
like the house of belonging.

~ David Whyte

We have walked
Padden Creek Trail
and the Interurban
Trail, exclaimed
over garter snakes,
birds and butterflies,
and transformation.
You are teaching
me how to walk;
you are teaching
me how to exclaim.

Once an orb spider
dropped a leaf
from a broad-leaf
maple on a strand
of silk through
our words where
we stood reading,
testing new poems.
You are teaching
me how to see;
you are teaching
me how to speak.

We have walked
the trail while
you coached me
on my editing.
You are teaching
me how to edit
without fear.

We have walked
all the way to where
the old trestle once
bridged the gap
over Chuckanut Creek
and Arroyo Park,
commiserating
over childhoods
and birth families.
You are teaching
me how words
can build bridges
and bridge gaps.
You are teaching
me how to listen.
You are teaching
me how words
can console
at the edge
of an abyss,
begin to repair
this damaged
and beautiful world.

At times
I have feared
losing your
friendship,
finally
learn that
I am wrong.

We have
professed
kinship
in the house
of words;
we have
professed
kinship
in the house
of intentional
families.
You are teaching
me not to fear.
You are teaching
me that I belong.

~*~

Andrew Shattuck McBride
NaPoWriMo 2014 ~ Day 19

About Andrew Shattuck McBride

I am a writer, editor, writing coach, and consultant. I work in a variety of genres, including poetry, short stories, and creative non-fiction. I also have a couple of novels simmering on back burners. THANK YOU to Nan Macy of Village Books for taking this photo (June 2011).
This entry was posted in Andrew Shattuck McBride Editor, Andrew Shattuck McBride Writer, Notes on the Literary Life, Poets, Samples, Trail Offerings, Transformation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friendship

  1. Beautiful, Andy, and very moving.

Leave a Reply

