Easter finery and small signs

I walk everywhere, and see more – not less.
It’s balmy, and I’m soon carrying my jacket.
My first clue is a capital “E” letter – as from
a decal, forgotten or discarded on the sidewalk.
As I walk up the hill toward her church,
a lady in Easter finery greets me with “Happy
Easter.”
She doesn’t look askance at my casual
clothes. I reply in kind, automatically. A man
and an older son dressed in fine suits –
and a younger son in a fine vest – cross
the street diagonally toward their car without
noticing or acknowledging me. In residential
areas people are working in their gardens
and yards. Along a sidewalk, a handful of
freshly pruned fruit trees are ringed with piles
of branches. The shears lay where dropped;
they will need sharpening now.

Cherry trees are heavy with blossoms. I glory
in seeing so many different deciduous trees
in bloom; the greens of cedar, fir, and spruce
are muted. Plum trees have been in full bloom;
now there are growing clouds of petals on
the ground beneath them. Near that church,
this is what I noticed: a weeping cherry
has dropped nearly all of its blossoms.
Everywhere along my path rhododendrons
are heavy with buds, and I can’t help
wondering what color blossoms
will spring forth from each tree.

The view opens up as I approach the top
of the hill. Visibility is very good under
a gauzy-cloud sky. Canadian mountains
in the distance are clear and deep in snow.
In hills northeast of town, there are tongues
of snow marking clear-cuts. I watch for eagles.
During sunbreaks, sunlight sparkles off the bay.
Gulls cry and crows call, and if they are close
I greet the crows and sing their praises. In
Boulevard Park, a small sign on the back of
a bench reads “Hit Pause ■■and take a seat.”

A few benches down, I do – briefly.

I worship here.

Andrew Shattuck McBride
NaPoWriMo
April 9, 2012

About Andrew Shattuck McBride

I am a writer, editor, writing coach, and consultant. I work in a variety of genres, including poetry, short stories, and creative non-fiction. I also have a couple of novels simmering on back burners. THANK YOU to Nan Macy of Village Books for taking this photo (June 2011).
This entry was posted in Andrew Shattuck McBride Writer, NaPoWriMo ~ 2012, Samples. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

