The Quotidian, August 29, 2010 ~ Cats

 “I love cats because I enjoy my home, and little by little, they become its visible soul.” ~ Jean Cocteau (July 5, 1889 to October 11, 1963)

Jean Cocteau was a French poet, novelist, artist, and filmmaker. During his lifetime he produced an astonishing output of poetry, poetry illustrations, plays, novels, and films. He was very well known for his film La Belle et la Bete (1946) (Beauty and the Beast).

[Source for quotation: my personal memory. Verified through use of BrainyQuotes.com, accessed August 26, 2010. Source for biographical information: partially personal knowledge and Wikipedia, accessed August 26, 2010].

About Andrew Shattuck McBride

I am a writer, editor, writing coach, and consultant. I work in a variety of genres, including poetry, short stories, and creative non-fiction. I also have a couple of novels simmering on back burners. THANK YOU to Nan Macy of Village Books for taking this photo (June 2011).
This entry was posted in The Quotidian. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Quotidian, August 29, 2010 ~ Cats

  1. If cats are the visible soul of my home, then I’m in trouble. My home’s soul is either fat and lazy or frisky and ornery with the occasional hair-ball thrown into the mix. Me-ow!

    Best to you and purrs (tehehe),
    Carolyn

  2. LOL

    Yes, I know about the occasional hairball. I have three cats. Bigglesworth is my muse; Angel is my Polar Cat, and Hobie Cat is my Cat in Formal Wear.

    Angel is a white shorthair cat. Hobie Cat is a Tuxedo cat (black with a white chest). Bigglesworth is black and brown.

    I love my cats. Meow, Andy

Leave a comment